City of Madison Centenarian Recognition Program

Friday, October 15, 2010 - 6:39am

Ald. Tim Bruer and Mayor Dave Cieslewicz Recognize 1st Recipient

Ald. Tim Bruer, District 14, and Mayor Dave Cieslewicz announce the creation of the City of Madison Centenarian Recognition Program.

A ceremony to recognize the first honoree, Ms. Cora Christensen, will be held on Monday, October 18, 2010 at 10:30 a.m. at Oakwood Village-West, in the Nakoma/Westmorland Room of Heritage Oaks (6205 Mineral Point Road).

Ms. Christensen was born on November 30, 1910, with the assistance of a midwife, on her family's farm in Jackson County, Wisconsin. Cora will be joined at the ceremony by members of her family, her friends at Oakwood Village-West, Oakwood Village CEO, Joe Xanthopoulos, Ald. Tim Bruer, District 14, Mayor Dave Cieslewicz and Ald. Mark Clear, Common Council President.

On September 1, 2009 the Madison Common Council adopted a resolution to honor City of Madison Centenarians and created a program to recognize Madison senior residents for their lifelong contributions to the community.

"We know that the most senior of our citizens are valuable contributors to our community," stated Ald. Tim Bruer, "and we wanted to provide a way to recognize and honor their accomplishments."

Any City of Madison resident who is 100 years of age or older qualifies for this milestone recognition. Ald. Tim Bruer explained the importance of recognizing this age group, "Our centenarian population will increase over the next 25 years. According to the 2000 census there were 66 centenarians and projections are for an increase to 423 centenarians by 2035."

When a recognition application is submitted to the Common Council Office, birthday greetings and a certificate signed by the Mayor and Common Council President will be mailed to the special centenarian.

The brochure explaining the program and the application can be downloaded at:

If you have questions about the program please contact Lisa Veldran, Common Council office staff at 266-4074 or


  • Ald. Tim Bruer, District 14(608) 266-4071
  • Lisa Veldran, Council Staff(608) 266-4074
  • Keith VanLanduyt, Oakwood Village-West(608) 230-4397