City Seeks Nominations for Jeff Erlanger Award

Monday, October 14, 2013 - 11:16am

The City of Madison is seeking nominations for the 2013 Jeffrey Clay Erlanger Civility in Public Discourse Award. This award was created in 2007 to honor the memory of the late Jeff Erlanger, who was committed to public service and who exemplified the highest standards of constructive civil debate, fairness, openness, and effective representation.

Jeff Erlanger served on the City of Madison's Economic Development Commission, chaired the Commission on People with Disabilities, chaired the Board of Directors of the Community Alliance, and ran for the Madison Common Council in 2002. Mr. Erlanger was a leader in the establishment of the accessible taxi service that Madison has today. He died in June of 2007.

"This year, as we watch the unfolding events in our nation's capital, we are reminded of the importance of the values that this award represents," Mayor Paul Soglin said. "If public officials at all levels of government emulated Jeff's behavior, we would see them problem solving, rather than creating new ones."

The Erlanger Award was created to "recognize individuals who share Jeff Erlanger's dedication to, and compassion for public policy development, politeness, civility, individual and human rights, and who conduct their daily life consistent with these values." Previous recipients of this award are former Dane County Supervisor Dick Wagner, former City of Madison Common Council members Warren Onken and Judy K. Olson, Madison Plan Commission Chair Nan Fey, YWCA Executive Director Rachel Krinsky, community activist Alice Fike, and former City of Madison Mayoral Assistant, interim Madison Affirmative Action Department Director and interim Madison Community Services Office Supervisor Enis Ragland.

Nomination forms are available online at Nominations must be returned to the Mayor's Office by mail (Room 403, City-County Building, 210 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Madison WI 53703) or by email ( by 4:30 PM on November 4, 2013.

The Erlanger Award is presented annually at a Common Council meeting close to Jeff Erlanger's birthday, November 30. This year it will be presented at the December 3 meeting of the Madison Common Council.


  • Katie Crawley608-266-4611