The City of Madison is getting ready for 5G implementation. The City is developing guidelines that will allow cellular companies to locate Small Cell installations in a way that maximizes technological benefits, while attempting to preserve street-side aesthetics.


Health Concerns

As stated on the FCC website, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) is required by the National Environmental Policy Act of 1969 to evaluate the effect of FCC-regulated transmitters on human health. The FCC relies on outside non-governmental research (e.g. the National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements (NCRP)) on human exposure to radio-frequency (RF) electromagnetic fields.

On August 1, 1996, the FCC adopted the NCRP’s recommended limits for field strength and power density for transmitters operating at frequencies of 300 kHz to 100 GHz. In addition, specific absorption rate (SAR) limits for devices operating within close proximity were also adopted in FCC-96-326. However, the purpose of this order was to address the use of cellular telephones and exposure to large cellular towers. Long-term research on small cell RF exposure is currently underway by outside agencies and organizations.

Contact the FCC’s RF Safety Program at rfsafety@fcc.gov or 1-888-225-5322 for more information.

State & Federal Government Contacts

Contact your representatives about current and upcoming legislature regarding Small Cell facilities.

  Name Contact Information
State Assembly Representative Melissa Sargent
Assembly District 48
(608) 266-0960 | Rep.Sargent@legis.wisconsin.gov
Representative Chris Taylor
Assembly District 76
(608) 266-5342 | Rep.Taylor@legis.wisconsin.gov
Representative Shelia Stubbs
Assembly District 77
(608) 266‐3784 | Rep.Stubbs@legis.wisconsin.gov
Representative Lisa Subeck
Assembly District 78
(608) 266‐7521 | Rep.Subeck@legis.wisconsin.gov
State Senate Senator Mark Miller
Senate District 16
(608) 266‐9170 | Sen.Miller@legis.wisconsin.gov
Senator Fred A. Risser
Senate District 26
(608) 266-1627 | Sen.Risser@legis.wisconsin.gov
U.S. House Representative Mark Pocan
WI Congressional District 2
Madison Office: (608) 258‐9800
Washington, D.C. Office: (202) 225‐2906
U.S. Senate Senator Ron Johnson Madison Office: (608) 240‐9629
Washington, D.C. Office: (202) 224‐5323
Senator Tammy Baldwin Madison Office: (608) 264‐5338
Washington, D.C. Office: (202) 224‐5653
Federal Communications Commission Federal Communications Commission (FCC) 1-888-225-5322
Ajit Pai, Chairman Ajit.Pai@fcc.gov
Michael O'Rielly, Commissioner Mike.O'Rielly@fcc.gov
Brendan Carr, Commissioner Brendan.Carr@fcc.gov
Jessica Rosenworcel, Commissioner Jessica.Rosenworcel@fcc.gov
Geoffrey Starks, Commissioner Geoffrey.Starks@fcc.gov