Archived News: This news release is more than one year old and may include outdated information.

Five Individuals and Organizations Honored for Significant Contributions to Public Health

Five individuals and organizations will be honored at the 2014 Public Health Awards ceremony to be held on Wednesday, May 7th at 1:30 p.m. at the Olbrich Botanical Gardens, 3330 Atwood Ave. in Madison.  These annual Public Health Awards recognize those who have made significant contributions and demonstrated exceptional commitment to improving public health in our community.

According to Janel Heinrich, Director of Public Health Madison and Dane County, "Each of our 2014 Public Health Award recipients have gone above and beyond the call of duty to create a Madison and Dane County where everyone has the opportunity to be healthy.  I’m inspired and honored to recognize their vision, leadership, and commitment at our 2014 Public Health Awards ceremony.”

Nominations for the Public Health awards were submitted by a variety of people and organizations in the community, and by Public Health staff. At the ceremony, public health staff will highlight the specific contributions that each honoree has made to the public health of the community. The awards will be presented by Madison Mayor Paul Soglin and Dane County Executive Joe Parisi.  This year’s awards will also highlight Public Health staff and partners who worked on helping get Dane County residents signed up for health insurance through the Affordable Care Act Health Insurance Marketplace. 
This year's recipients are:
Advocacy Award:
               Chris Brockel, Executive Director, FairShare CSA Coalition

 For sharing his expertise on our local food systems and advocating to improve access to       healthy foods for low-income and other special needs populations.
Advocacy Award: 
                     Philip A. Bain MD, Internal Medicine, Dean Clinic

For work in reducing opioid harm by creating a tool kit for primary care practice on safe opioid prescribing, and collaboratively developing patient education materials for the proper use and disposal of pain medications.
Prevention Award: 
                                                 Literacy Network

For creating and implementing the English for Health Program which helps adults with limited English proficiency build skills to navigate the health care system, and empowers them to make good decisions about their care.
Leadership Award:
     Lisa Peyton-Caire, Founder, Foundation for Black Women’s Wellness
                       and Black Women’s Wellness Day

For leadership in creating the Foundation for Black Women’s Wellness, committed to eliminating health disparities and establishing a culture of wellness among women and girls through education, outreach and support circles.
Partnership Award:
          Eileen Bradley, Community Care Specialist, GHC-SCW

For partnering with Public Health-Madison & Dane County and other organizations serving refugees in coordinating health care services and establishing better systems, including integrating mental health assessment into primary care visits.


Health & Safety