Dr. Floyd Rose is the Recipient of the James C. Wright Human Rights Award

Monday, June 16, 2014 - 2:08pm

The Reverend James C. Wright Human Rights Award honors the late Reverend James C. Wright who served as Executive Director of the Equal Opportunities Commission from its inception in 1968 until his retirement in 1992. The award is given to an individual who best exemplifies Rev. Wright’s dedication and compassion for civil and human rights and conducts their daily life consistent with these values. This Nineteenth year the award has been presented to a deserving individual. The Equal Opportunities Commission’s Selection Committee selected Dr. Floyd Rose, PhD as the 2014 award recipient. The award will be presented by Mayor Paul Soglin at the June 17, 2014 Common Council meeting.

Dr. Floyd Rose has been a leader and advocate in the African American and other communities of color for decades. Dr. Rose is President of the Wisconsin Council, a nonprofit organization which supports and develops minority-owned, women-owned and veteran-owned businesses by facilitating important connections between corporations and diverse suppliers of goods and services. Dr. Rose started the Wisconsin Council in 1984. In 1987, Dr. Rose was involved in the creation of the Business Management Seminar (BMS), an executive management symposium that has been exclusively tailored for the owners and executives of minority-owned firms. In his capacity as President of the 100 Black Men, Madison Chapter, and a consultant, Dr. Rose has advanced programs to enhance achievement in academics, economic empowerment, mentoring, health and wellness and racial parity in Madison and across the nation.

Dr. Rose is also the founder of the African American Communication and Collaboration Council and currently is a Board Member of Kappa Alpha Psi, the Center for Family Policy and Practice, the Boys and Girls Club of Dane County, and the 100 Black Men Madison Chapter. He is a former member of the Edgewood Campus School Board of Directors.

Dr. Rose has been married to his life partner, Mary, for more than 40 years. Floyd and Mary have been blessed with three children, Michelle, Floyd III, and  Michael.

Dr. Rose’s nominator made this statement: "despite his considerable talent and achievements, Dr. Rose retains an air of humility and a spirit of cooperation in every endeavor. He is a deeply religious person who believes that his primary purpose is to serve others".

Past recipients include: Jacqueline Wright, 1996; Dr. Richard H. Harris, 1997; Chief Justice Shirley Abrahamson, 1998; Helen Vukelich, 1999; Anthony "Nino" Amato, 2000; John Noreika Sr., 2001; Dr. John Y. Odom, 2002; Peter Muñoz, 2003; Earnestine Moss, 2004; Jonathan "Jon" Gramling, 2005; Agnes Gutierrez Cammer, 2006; Jeffery Erlanger, 2007; Dr. Richard Davis, 2008; Darlene Hancock, 2009; Alfonso Studesville, 2010; Richard V. Brown Sr., 2011; Colleen Butler, 2012 and Charlestine "Charlie" Daniel, 2013.