Mayoral Appointments

Alder Paul Skidmore
District 9

Alder Sheri Carter
District 14

Ronald M. Trachtenberg
Mr. Trachtenberg is an attorney concentrating his practice in real estate/land use/municipal law.  He served for eight years (1983-1991) on the City of Madison common council, serving a term as council president and term as a member of Madison's Board of Estimates, Plan Commission, Board of Public Works, Economic Development Commission and Community Development Block Grant Commission.  He presently serves as Chair of the Board of Directors of Madison Development Corporation.

John E. Rothschild
Mr. Rothschild is a retired attorney who, from 2001-2007, held the position of chief legal counsel for the Wisconsin Department of Administration. He served as an assistant city attorney for the City of Madison for 23 years.

This mayoral position is vacant and in the process of being filled.

Common Council President Appointments

Alder David Ahrens
District 15

Alder Rebecca Kemble
District 18

Justice Castañeda 
Mr. Castañeda is the executive director of Common Wealth Development. He is a founder/volunteer of Carts for Community and works with at/in-risk youth through Briarpatch Youth Services.

Margarita I. Northrop
Ms. Northrop is a Wisconsin Population Health Institute Fellow at the Wisconsin Division of Public Health, Office of Policy and Practice Alignment. She is active in her community and is currently working to bring social and public library services to low-income/homeless student families at Sandburg Elementary.

Eric S. Upchurch
Mr. Upchurch is a strategic development consultant and community activist. He is the chief visionary for his consulting firm, Opportunity Inc. Mr. Upchurch served as the executive director of the Madison Black Chamber of Commerce and as a lead organizer for the Young Gifted and Black Coalition.

Mayor and Common Council President Joint Appointment

Eileen Harrington
Ms. Harrington is currently an adjunct associate professor in the Political Science Department at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. She served for 27 years at the Federal Trade Commission, retiring as its executive director in 2012. During her tenure, she was awarded the rank of Distinguished Executive and received the Service to America Medal. Ms. Harrington served as the chief operating officer at the U.S. Small Business Administration during the first two years of the Obama Administration.