Upcoming Free Events in Madison Parks!

posted August 30, 2016 8:26 AM

Movie - Open Season Scared Silly at Penn Park, Friday, Sept. 2
Bird & Nature Walk at Cherokee Marsh, Sunday, Sept. 4
Learn to Golf at Yahara Hills, Tuesday, Sept. 6
Warner Family Fun Night at WPCRC, Friday, Sept. 9
Bird & Nature Walk at Owen Park, Saturday, Sept. 10
Movie - Despicable Me at Peace Park, Saturday, Sept. 10
Bird & Nature Walk at Turville Point, Sunday, Sept.11
Learn to Pickleball at Garner Park Tuesday, Sept. 13

All these and MORE!

FIELDS, OPEN OR CLOSED?

posted August 10, 2016 11:16 AM

The best and ONLY way to know if a park field is open for play is to call the Rainout Line (608)267-8787. Weekdays the line will be updated by 2:00pm, weekends and holidays the line will be updated by 9:00am. The line will be updated if fields are questionable, if no update by the times listed, fields are open for play. Fields that are closed for maintenance are listed on the website and NOT listed on the rainout line.

Modified Goodman Pool Hours

posted August 30, 2016 2:58 PM

Tuesday, August 30 (1pm-8pm)
Wednesday, August 31 (1pm-8pm)
Thursday, September 1 (3pm-8pm)
Friday, September 2 (3pm-8pm)
Saturday, September 3 (12:15pm-7pm)
Sunday, September 4 (12pm-7pm)
Monday, September 5 (12pm-7pm)....LAST DAY FOR THE 2016 SEASON!

Visit the Goodman Pool soon!

What are these spots on my tree's leaves?

posted August 18, 2016 11:28 AM

This is called "tar spot" and is common on maples, boxelders and other local trees.  Initially the spots are small and yellowish and may remain relatively small or may enlarge in the growing season. As the tar spot progresses, the center may become raised and turn black. This is a non-threatening fungus.

Does the tar spot kill or damage my tree?
For most trees, tar spot is not a serious disease and is primarily cosmetic and will not kill the tree.

What should I do if my tree is infected?
You can reduce or even eliminate tar spot by simply removing in the autumn the fallen, infected leaves from around the base of the tree. These leaves can be used as compost or burned (where permitted). Treatment is rarely, if ever warranted. You may further consult with a county UW-Extension horticultural professional.

Photo Courtesy of flickr: greenhem

 

News View all News Releases

Madison Parks Blog View All Posts

Play Madison Parks Twitter