City of Madison

Image: Department of Civil Rights


The Affirmative Action Commission consist of eleven (11) members appointed by the Mayor. The members are appointed from the entire City and at no time does the total number of women, persons with disabilities, and ethnic minority members constitute less than a majority. These members, who are not compensated, are committed to the extension of equal employment opportunities and representative of the affected and/or under-represented groups of the Madison community.

This commission's responsibilities include, but are not limited to:

  • Reviewing, approving and recommending City-wide affirmative action goals and timetables as proposed by the Director of Affirmative Action
  • Disseminating information to educate the people of the City of Madison to a greater understanding and practice of Affirmative Action Employment for all affected or underrepresented groups
  • Making specific recommendations to the Common Council to bring all appropriate ordinances into conformity with the policies of Madison General Ordinance 39.02 if necessary.

Mission Statement and Membership