Historic Preservation Planning

The Historic Preservation Section works to protect the historic resources that represent the City's unique and diverse heritage. The City of Madison contains buildings, structures, signs, features, improvements, sites, and areas that have significant architectural, archaeological, anthropological, historical, and cultural value. Local historic designation ensures that the City's growth sensitively incorporates the City's historic resources.

Landmarks and Local Historic Districts

Landmarks and Local Historic Districts retain and enhance buildings and areas that are historically or architecturally significant to the City of Madison. Landmarks and other buildings within the local historic districts need approvals for exterior alterations, new construction, and demolitions by the Landmarks Commission. These approvals help to protect the character of buildings, streetscapes, and neighborhoods.
For information on how to nominate a property or district, please contact our office.


National Register of Historic Places

The National Register of Historic Places is the nation's list of historically significant cultural resources. It recognizes properties, including archaeological sites, that are significant not only nationally, but also regionally and locally. There are over a dozen National Register Historic Districts and over 75 individual properties in Madison listed on the National Register.

National Register designation includes financial incentives in the form of two kinds of tax credits; one for the rehabilitation of income-producing property and one for the rehabilitation of single-family residences. Visit the Wisconsin State Historical Society website for more information about these tax credits.

Slaughter-Shuttleworth House
The Slaughter-Shuttleworth House


Last Updated: 01/22/2020