Multicultural Affairs Committee

The Multicultural Affairs Committee (MAC) is comprised of City of Madison employees and charged with addressing issues of concern to City of Madison employees from historically underrepresented racial and ethnic groups.


  1. To exchange information and ideas relating to workplace diversity and inclusion.
  2. To set goals and make recommendations for providing equal opportunities and an inclusive working environment.
  3. To develop support networks for employees who identify with historically underrepresented racial and ethnic groups.
  4. To serve as a resource for the Mayor, departments, and agencies as they work toward meeting diversity goals.
  5. To support activities that celebrate diversity, multicultural awareness, and engagement of all employees.

MAC/WIC Survey Now Open

2022 MAC/WIC Survey

The Multicultural Affairs Committee (MAC) and the Women’s Initiatives Committee (WIC) are excited to present the 2022 MAC/WIC Survey ! The MAC/WIC Survey is an important opportunity for City of Madison employees to share feedback on workplace experiences, culture, and their working environment to guide future workplace decisions and initiatives.

Your Voice Matters

We want to hear from you! All surveys are anonymous and kept confidential. We only share aggregate results with leadership. The survey takes 10 to 15 minutes to complete. We encourage supervisors to allow staff time to complete this survey and contribute to this citywide initiative.

Take the survey by April 22, 2022.

2022 MAC/WIC Survey


Any City employee may seek membership after attending two meetings. Meetings are open to the public, and all employees are welcome to attend.


Meets:3rd Wednesday of Month; 11:30 am
Agency:Department of Civil Rights
(608) 266-4910
Authority:Madison General Ordinance (MGO) 33.27
Chair:Binta Ceesay
Vice Chair:Nancy Saiz
Secretary:Ana Martinez
Agendas:Meeting Schedule


Multicultural Affairs Committee

(left to right) Tracy Lomax, Melissa Gombar, Binta Ceesay, Byron Bishop, Amy Deming, Karl Van Lith, Neeyati Shah, Nancy Saiz, Michael Miller, Carla Garces, Deon Carruthers, Mahanth Joishy


Active Members

  • Binta Ceesay 
  • Mahanth Joishy
  • Neeyati Shah
  • Amy Deming
  • Ana Martinez
  •  David Coy
  • Michael Miller
  • Nancy Saiz

Associate Members

  • Lindsay Bessick
  • Garfield Cunningham
  • Norman Davis
  • Tariq Saqqaf
  • Melissa Gombar
  • Erin Hillson
  • Jerrett Jones
  • Hailey Krueger
  • Tracy Lomax
Was this page helpful to you?